Pokemon Go Eevee Evolution Guide: How to get all 8 Eevee evolutions

Pokémon GO has a lot of evolutions in it. Some of them suit your gameplay while some might not, but what’s for sure is that Eevee evolutions cannot be missed in Pokémon GO. They are one of the most talked-about evolutions in the game, with up to as many as 8 total evolutions. Eevee evolutions are a constant conversation topic for players and now you can get all of them on your team. In this Pokémon GO evolutions guide, we will explain all the 8 Eevee evolutions and how to obtain them.

Eevee is one of the best Pokémon in the game, ever since the Red/Green/Blue generation of Pokémon games. It is one of the coolest pokemon as it has one of the highest evolution types, with each of them having different looks and even types.

Complete List of all the Eevee evolutions in Pokémon GO

Eevee evolutions are meant to be based on random chances and cannot be chosen as such. Once you hit Evolve, you have a random chance of getting one of the three original Eeveelutions. The other four can be obtained via special means. Though there are some cheats and workarounds to overturn the RNG(random number generator) in the Eeveelutions.

Pokémon GO Eevee Community Day 2021 Pokémon GO Eevee evolutions
Eeveelutions (Image via Niantic)

Apart from the base Eevee, there are 8 Evolutions in the game till now. Generation 1 has Vaporeon, Jolteon, and Flareon; Generation 2 has Umbreon and Espeon, and Leafon and Glaceon in Generation 3. The final Evolution is Sylveon from Generation 6, a very strong Fairy-type Pokémon. The Generation 1 Evolutions are chosen at a random, and the Generation 2 and 3 Pokémon are obtained using some special means.

Evolving your Eevee to your preferred type in Pokémon Go

Evolving an Eevee in the normal way of using 25 Candy does nothing but evolve into any one of the different types at random. To force-evolve your Eevee into one of your choice, you have to rename your Eevee to a special nickname.

This entire little cheat was developed as part of an Easter Egg as a homage to a classic set of Eevee evolutions in the Pokémon anime. Here is a list of the particular nicknames and the Eevee evolutions they relate to:

Eevee EvolutionImageName to EvolveType
Eevee (#133)eeveeOriginal FormNormal
Vaporeon (#134)vaporeonRainerWater
Jolteon (#135)jolteonSparkyElectric
Flareon (#136)flareonPyroFire
Espeon (#196)espeonSakuraPsychic
Umbreon (#197)umbreonTamaoDark
Leafeon (#470)leafeonLinneaGrass
Glaceon (#471)glaceonReaIce
Sylveon (#700)sylveonKiraFairy

A very important thing to note about this enjoyable cheat: it works only once per Eevee evolution. This means that once you have renamed an Eevee to Rea to get Glaceon or any of the other nicknames to get a particular Eeveelution, you have to evolve them the normal way (depending on the type) the next time. That’s why you should ensure that your CP and IV values are reasonable and perfect for you before evolving an Eevee, and evolve the type which would be most beneficial to you. Think carefully before you act on this method, as you have only one shot at this.

Evolving into Flareon, Jolteon and Vaporeon in Pokémon Go

This trio are one of the easiest Eeevelution in Pokemon Go. Unlike the other evolutions, you don’t need to complete some strenuous task to achieve it. You can simply just gather 25 Candy and click on the Evolve button.

Pokémon Go evolving into Flareon Jolteon Vaporeon
Image via Niantic

There is one problem during this Eeevelution though, which is that you’ll have no clue which of the three Pokémon you will get upon clicking on the Evolve button as they are chosen at random. There is one way to bypass this hassle though which is by using the hidden trick method mentioned above.

Evolving into Espeon and Umbreon in Pokémon Go

For your first time, you can use the nickname trick mentioned above. After that, you need to evolve them using the old-fashioned method, by completing certain goals. For Espeon and Umbreon, you can also evolve them using the in-game method – based on the time of the day. To do this, first, reach a certain relationship level with your Eevee. Set them as your Buddy Pokémon and walk as much as you can along with them.

umbreon-and-espeon-eeve Pokémon GO Eevee evolutions
Image via Niantic

Once you hit 10km with an Eevee as your Buddy, it’s ready to evolve into one of the above two types. Evolve during the day to get Espeon and during the night to get Umbreon. This method can be reused as many times as you want.

Evolving into Glaceon and Leafeon

This duo has the most specific evolution method so far. Apart from the one-time name trick, there is one special method to make an Eeveelution. You will need two items, in particular, to evolve into Glaceon and Leafeon: Glacial Lure and Mossy Lure. These are available in the shop, the Glacial Lures for Water and Ice-type Pokémon and the Mossy Lure for Grass and Bug types.

glaceon and leafon Pokémon GO Eevee evolutions
Image via Niantic

Once these lures are placed, remain within the Pokestop’s radius to impact the evolution. If you place the Glacial Lure, you can easily evolve into Glaceon by just staying within the Pokéstop’s radius. Placing the Mossy Lure and staying within the Pokestop’s radius allows any Eevee you have into a Leafeon.

Evolving into the Fairy-type Sylveon

Sylveon is the most recent Eevee evolution added to Pokémon GO. The nickname trick obviously works for the first Evolution. After this, the method has been explained below.

sylveon pokemon go Pokémon GO Eevee evolutions
Image via Niantic

For further chances to get Sylveon, first get 70 Buddy Hearts with an Eevee. This puts your relationship at the Great Buddy level. After this, simply evolve that Eevee with 25 Candy to get a brand new Fairy Sylveon in return.

Other miscellaneous facts

If you were wondering where the nicknames come from, they are nothing but a nod toward fans of the Pokémon anime. The easter egg was aimed at players who were dedicated to fans of the series growing up. Sparky, Pyro, Rainer, Tamao, and Sakura are actually the names of the Eevee brothers from the anime. Each brother has a unique Eevee of his own, and that’s where the Eevee take on their nicknames.

Glaceon and Leafon get their nicknames from two NPCs, Linnea and Rea that appear in the Eevium Z quest in Pokémon Sun and Moon with these two Eevelutions at hand. Read more about which Eevelution is the best for your playstyle from this Type Chart here we have compiled for you.

Did you find our guide on How to get all 8 Eevee evolutions in Pokémon GO useful? Let us know in the comments below!

For more Mobile Gaming news and updates, join our WhatsApp groupTelegram Group, or Discord server. Also, follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and Google News for quick updates.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button